Topicality

Swiss-Guidance-Web-thumbnail-Eng

Guidance on business and human rights for the Swiss network of representations

A new tool is now available to Swiss representations abroad.

The Guidance on Business and Human Rights for Swiss representations abroad is intended to help them engage in a constructive dialogue with Swiss companies in order to raise awareness of human rights issues and provide specific advice in relation to the local context.

The guidance is part of the National Action Plan on Business and Human Rights 2020-2023, which foresees the involvement of representations in raising awareness and supporting Swiss companies to ensure respect for human rights in line with the Federal Council's expectations. It provides an overview of internationally recognized guidelines, standards and principles relating to business and human rights, as well as practical tools for implementing human rights due diligence measures.

The guidance has been sent to embassies and cooperation offices and is available online and as a hard copy brochure. It can be ordered (in E, F, D versions) from: sts.afm.mrd@eda.admin.ch


Practical guide for the implementation of human rights due diligence

This practical guide supports both SMEs and large companies in developing and introducing pragmatic, effective processes for implementing human rights due diligence – in line with the related UN guiding principles and OECD guidelines. In addition, it indicates first steps and further information that can be helpful to companies in introducing due diligence.

The guide is available in English, French, German and Italian.


Die Schweiz ratifiziert zwei Übereinkommen der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation für Sicherheit und Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz

On 25 April 2022, Switzerland deposited with the International Labour Organisation (ILO) the instruments of ratification of the 1990 International Labour Convention on Safety in the Use of Chemicals at Work and the 1993 International Labour Convention on the Prevention of Industrial Accidents. These two conventions create a framework for a more coherent and mutually supportive global commitment to working conditions and the use of chemicals.

For more information, see: SECO - Die Schweiz ratifiziert zwei Übereinkommen der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation für Sicherheit und Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz

 

Business and human rights in the face of COVID-19

The coronavirus pandemic is having a significant impact not only in health terms but also in economic terms, threatening to put many people out of work, both in Switzerland and worldwide. Businesses have an important role to play in the fight against COVID-19. They can support efforts to stop the spread of the virus by adhering to health and safety plans and by ensuring compliance with social distancing. 

The federal government put together a preparedness handbook to help businesses develop measures to protect employees from infection and keep a business running in the event of a pandemic. The handbook is aimed at sector associations and businesses and sets out the various (standard and specific) protection plans.  

Flu pandemic: Preparedness handbook

https://backtowork.easygov.swiss/fr/

The ILO has published a great deal of information on the impact of COVID-19 on the world of work: https://www.ilo.org/global/topics/coronavirus/lang--en/index.htm


Brochure “Human trafficking for the purpose of labor exploitation”

Switzerland is active in combating human trafficking for labour exploitation, which is defined as the recruiting or trading of people who are forced to work against their will. The State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO is committed to making labour inspectors aware of this issue through an information campaign and a brochure providing practical tools, such as indicators for identifying potential victims.

Brochure “Human trafficking for the purpose of labor exploitation” (german)


Due diligence procedures for Swiss SMEs in the field of human rights: new brochure

BrochureSME

What benefits can a company derive if it respects human rights? How can it ensure that it conducts business responsibly? SECO and the FDFA are publishing a brochure for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) on their human rights responsibilities.

This brochure gives Swiss SMEs a practical overview of the opportunities and challenges of responsible business conduct. It provides international and national guidelines on this subject. It also provides tips for integrating human rights into corporate governance. The brochure provides an overview of the steps required to implement human rights due diligence. It is specifically aimed at SMEs and provides useful and specific information for human rights risk assessment.

Also available in Spanish / También disponible en español


Video BusinessandHumanrights

UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights

united-nations

The UN Human Rights Council endorsed the UNGP in June 2011. The UN Guiding Principles (UNGP) are rooted in an awareness that corporate activities can also have adverse human rights impacts.

The UNGP represent an important step towards closing the governance gaps. They define the international policy framework for the State duty to protect, and corporate responsibility with regard to human rights. The UN Guiding Principles rest on three pillars:

UNGP pillars

Contact

The coordination office of the National action plan on business and human rights is affiliated to the SECO and the Peace and Human Rights Division of the FDFA. We respond to your questions by e-mail:

info.nap-bhr@seco.admin.ch

Media

FDFA: info@eda.admin.ch

SECO: medien@seco.admin.ch

Social networks


Further topics

Verantwortung für Unternehmen 300135186

Corporate responsibility

Corporate activities do not only lead to investment, jobs and economic growth, but can also have undesirable side-effects.

Dokumentation 148482637

Documentation

Basic documents and studies carried out by the Confederation with external experts.

Staatliche Schutzpflicht 67750972

The State duty to protect

The duty to protect is based on Switzerland's existing obligations under international law which are concretized for the business sector.

Beispiele aus der Praxis 128906532

Case studies

Business activities to support and promote respect for human rights

https://www.nap-bhr.admin.ch/content/napbhr/en/home.html

L'actualité

Le 25 avril 2022, la Suisse a déposé auprès de l'Organisation internationale du travail (OIT) les instruments de ratification de la Convention internationale du travail de 1990 sur la sécurité dans l'utilisation des produits chimiques au travail et de la Convention internationale du travail de 1993 sur la prévention des accidents industriels. Ces deux conventions créent un cadre permettant de s'engager de manière plus cohérente et solidaire au niveau mondial dans le domaine des conditions de travail et de l'utilisation des substances chimiques.

Plus d’informations : La Suisse ratifie deux conventions de l’Organisation internationale du travail pour la sécurité et la santé au travail (admin.ch)

 

Entreprises et droits de l’homme face au Covid-19

La pandémie a un grand impact non seulement sur le plan sanitaire, mais également sur le plan économique, menaçant de priver de nombreuses personnes de leur travail, en Suisse et dans le monde entier. Les entreprises ont un rôle important à jouer dans la lutte face au Covid-19. Elles peuvent contribuer aux efforts visant à éviter la propagation du virus en adhérant aux plans de santé et sécurité et en assurant que les mesures sanitaires de distanciation sociale soient respectées.

La Confédération a élaboré un manuel pour soutenir les entreprises dans l’élaboration des mesures à prendre pour protéger le personnel d’une infection et maintenir l’activité de l’entreprise en cas de pandémie. Ce manuel s’adresse aux associations de branches et aux entreprises et contient les différents plans de protection (plans de protection standards et spécifiques) :

Manuel pour la préparation des entreprises

https://backtowork.easygov.swiss/fr/

L’OIT publie de nombreuses informations sur les impacts du COVID-19 sur le monde du travail : https://www.ilo.org/global/topics/coronavirus/lang--fr/index.htm.


Nouvelle brochure « Traite des êtres humains aux fins d’exploitation du travail »

La Suisse lutte contre la traite des êtres humains aux fins d’exploitation du travail qui consiste à recruter des personnes ou à en faire le commerce dans le but de les exploiter pour leur travail. Le SECO s’engage à sensibiliser les inspecteurs du travail à cette thématique au travers d’une campagne d’information et d’une brochure. Cette dernière fournit des outils pratiques, notamment des indicateurs permettant l’identification de victimes potentielles.

Brochure: Traite des êtres humains aux fins d’exploitation du travail 


Procédures de diligence des PME suisses en matière de droits de l'homme : nouvelle brochure

BrochurePMEimage.PNG

Quels avantages une entreprise peut-elle tirer si elle respecte les droits de l’homme ? Comment peut-elle s’assurer d’avoir une conduite responsable des affaires ? Le SECO et le DFAE publient une brochure pour les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) présentant leurs responsabilités en matière de droits de l’homme.

La présente brochure donne aux PME suisses un aperçu pratique des opportunités et des défis d’une gestion d’entreprise responsable. Elle fournit les lignes directrices internationales et nationales en la matière. Elle propose en outre des approches concrètes pour intégrer les questions relatives aux droits de l’homme dans la gestion de l’entreprise. La brochure livre un aperçu des étapes nécessaires pour la mise en place d’une diligence raisonnable en matière de droits de l’homme. Elle s’adresse spécifiquement aux PME et fournit des informations utiles et spécifiques pour l’évaluation des risques relatifs aux droits de l’homme.

 


Vidéo entreprises et droits de l'homme

Principes directeurs des Nations Unies relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme

united-nations

Le Conseil des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies a approuvé en juin 2011 les Principes directeurs de l’ONU. Ces principes reposent sur la perception suivant laquelle les activités des entreprises peuvent avoir des d’incidences négatives sur les droits de l’homme.

Les Principes directeurs de l’ONU constituent une étape importante du processus visant à combler les lacunes en matière de bonne gouvernance (governance gaps). Ils définissent le cadre politique international des obligations des États et de la responsabilité des entreprises pour le respect des droits de l’homme. Les Principes directeurs reposent sur trois piliers:

piliers UNGP

Contact

L’office de coordination du Plan d’action national relatif aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme est rattaché au SECO et à la Division Paix et droits de l'homme du DFAE.

Nous répondons volontiers à vos questions par e-mail:

info.nap-bhr@seco.admin.ch

Médias

DFAE: info@eda.admin.ch

SECO: medien@seco.admin.ch


Réseaux sociaux

Autres sujets

Verantwortung für Unternehmen 300135186

Responsabilité des entreprises

Les activités des entreprises génèrent certes des investissements, des emplois et de la croissance économique, mais sont également susceptibles de produire des effets secondaires indésirables.

Dokumentation 148482637

Documentation

Documents de base ainsi que des études que la Confédération a fait réaliser par des experts externes.

Staatliche Schutzpflicht 67750972

L’obligation de protéger incombant à l’État

L’obligation de protection de l’État découle des engagements internationaux de la Suisse qui sont concrétisées pour le domaine économique.

Beispiele aus der Praxis 128906532

Exemples pratiques

Activités des entreprises pour soutenir et promouvoir le respect des droits de l’homme

https://www.nap-bhr.admin.ch/content/napbhr/fr/home.html